Font Size
Join our Mailing List
Home Na hopes to close the deal

Kevin Na may not have history on his side today. The third-round leader/co-leader has won THE PLAYERS only 16 out of 38 times. The last time it happened was in 2006 when Stephen Ames won the event. 

Na was one of three players (Ben Curtis and Carl Pettersson) that were bogey-free in the third round and he leads the field in Strokes Gained--Putting after three rounds (+7.626). Right behind him is Matt Kutchar, who is one of 14 players tied for most top-10 finishes on TOUR in 2012 with four in 10 starts, including top 10s at both the World Golf Championships events and the Masters. Kuchar and Na are the only players that have the opportunity to post four rounds in the 60s at THE PLAYERS in 2012. Six players in tournament history have posted four rounds in the 60s: 

Al Geiberger (66-68-67-69), 1975, winner 

J.C. Snead (67-69-68-68), 1976, second 

Greg Norman (63-67-67-67), 1994, winner 

Fuzzy Zoeller (66-67-68-67), 1994, second 

Jeff Maggert (65-69-69-68), 1994, third 

Steve Elkington (66-69-68-69), 1997, winner